Mythologies of Mumbai

Batch 2022

Summary :

Mumbai, also known as Bombay, is the capital of Maharashtra. The city of Mumbai is built on seven islands: the Isle of Bombay, Parel, Mazagaon, Mahim, Colaba, Worli, and Old Woman’s Island (also known as Little Colaba). For trade and work, people from various regions, faiths, castes, classes, nationalities, and races have migrated to the city. The elective focuses on how these mélanges of cultures each have their own roots and myths while also influence one another in distinct ways. Thirteen shrines in the city were researched, and their stories were overlaid on an old Mumbai map to better comprehend their historical significance in the city’s cultural and geographic evolution. The elective helped students understand the origins of various shrine mythologies, as well as the importance that each mythology plays in establishing a city’s culture.


Ar. Manasi Chokshi

error: Content is protected !!